How To Get Quick Travel Funds

Everyone wants to travel when they’re in college. The allure of exploring foreign lands instead of the inside of a bland classroom with the same people everyday. It’s an amazing way to learn more about the world around you and about yourself. The main problem lies here: we’re all broke. Sure, some of us have jobs or have financial help from our families. However, sometimes the spontaneity kicks in and you just want to go. In situations like this, you’d think you’re stuck if you haven’t planned this out in advance. Luckily for us broke tourists, though, there are easy ways to get money for those concert tickets or those spur-of-the-moment road trips.

One method that I discovered here, in the lovely city of Fort Myers, is donating blood plasma. Did she say blood plasma? Yes, kind reader, I did. Now, let me explain. Biotest Plasma Center, located in Fort Myers, is one of 22 centers in the U.S that will give you money for donating your blood plasma. The staff there is extremely kind, helpful and professional. I made $300 dollars in two donations there, which paid for my road trip to North Carolina and Virginia. The process is completely safe, and medical professionals will be making sure you are eligible to donate. You get paid $50 dollars each for your first 4 donations. If you’re a student at Florida Gulf Coast University, you’ll get an extra $100 dollars for bringing your student I.D. There’s always coupons on their websites and social media pages that will grant you an extra amount of cash as well. Your blood plasma helps save lives, and you get to be spontaneous.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This is such good advice for people who constantly want to travel, which I love to do. As you said, the majority of us are almost always broke, which prevents us from being able to do a lot of things. I mean, I don’t think driving to Hialeah to visit my family qualifies as “traveling” considering the moment you get there you immediately want to leave. Something that you could write about is traveling on a budget. I think that would be incredibly helpful!

    Like

  2. jessman247 says:

    I have considered going to Biotest Plasma Center many times. I didn’t you could make that much! Smart idea using those funds to travel and have a nice little vacay. I think this blog will have lots of good ideas and im excited to see the upcoming content.
    Jesse Martin

    Like

  3. Kala Silverman says:

    This is such a great idea, I’d never thought of doing this! I’ve been wanting to travel the country but I don’t make enough money to be able to save. It puts my mind at easy knowing there’s always an option for when I need money. Also, I agree with what David said about a post for traveling on a budget. I would definitely be interested in reading tips on that.

    Like

  4. Calvin Daily says:

    Hi Farrah,
    This is such an interesting article post and valuable information for travelers in need of some traveling money. I especially like how you tied in your personal experiences with traveling and using the method you mentioned to earn money. This is a smart process and I’m sure people could definitely use this information. Great post and I hope you continue to give ideas like this to new travelers. Can’t wait to read more.

    Like

  5. Matthew Bell says:

    I’ve actually done this before. I learned about it high school. It actually is a great idea. Especially if you’re a full time student. You can even do it twice a week because they only use the plasma in your blood and replenish your body with the leftover cells. Unlike donating only your blood you actually do get paid for this.

    Like

  6. Maven says:

    I love this post because it’s relate able and informational. When I read “We’re all broke” I laughed because I feel that spiritually. I also like that its something YOU have done, and can attest to it that it works. I hate when I see information and its just here say and it never really works the way it says it does. Cant wait for your future updates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

